Camera Clubs

I just got back from the meeting of the Oakville Camera Club. Tonight the members were offering critiques of other members’ works. I’ll tell you, there were some pretty nice images shown but if I see one more photo of a tree… Also, the projector had a purple cast but that’s part of the fun. This isn’t super serious photography. This is photography done for the sheer enjoyment of it.

One newcomer, who I thought might have been feeling a little intimidated, asked what kind of cameras was everyone using. One of the executive members suggested that most members shot with either Canon or Nikon digital single-lens reflex cameras. Well that might be true but a lot of them would do well to go back to a point and shoot for awhile and focus (pardon the pun)on their composition.

My thought is let the camera look after the exposure (at least for now) and concentrate on getting better composition. Some said if you wanted to be a more interesting photographer then become a more interesting person. i agree and that has nothing to do with how big your camera is.

BTW this is one of my photos from the Canada Blooms 2009 show. This was my first black and white conversion using Nik’s Silver Efex Pro. I don’t know about you, but I’m impressed.

Peter West Photo - B&W - Blooms 2009

Leave a Reply

