The incident light meter

Every time I demonstrate an incident light meter, my students have lots of questions  about why would I bother with such an archaic device.

And then I tell them I own three of these guys. That stops them 🙂lm

So what’s the deal about incident light meters? The guys over at Luminous Landscape have a very good explanation about how to use a incident light meter. They’ve focused their review of the very good but very expensive Sekonic L508 II Zoom Master Light Meter.  (It can do spot, flash and incident light meter readings.)

I have tlm-2he equally wonderful (although it doesn’t do spot metering but I have the camera for that) Sekonic L-358  (left) and the much older lm3Studio Deluxe L-398A (right – which is poorly named as it’s not useful in a studio but is a fabulous incident light meter which doesn’t even use a battery!!)  And I’ve got a Gossen Luna-Pro (below) which I’ve had to switch batteries as the originals aren’t made anymore.

lm-4

One thought on “The incident light meter

  1. Peter,
    I could not agree more about the use of good old hand meters! A friend of mine recently GAVE to me a Gossen LunaSix 3. I sent it to Bogen to have it repaired and the battery conversion done. It is a wonderful meter I love it. I just bought a used Minolta Flash II meter for my studio work. In camera meters are nice, but they will never replace the hand meters especially for incident readings!
    Sincerely,
    Carlisle

Leave a Reply

