Capture NX2 and Silver Efex Pro Workshops

Why am I promoting a possible competitor’s workshops? I mean I can teach NX2 and Silver Efex Pro myself (and in fact I have plans to do so. Email me for details). So why would I go out of my way to let you know about Jason Odell’s upcoming webinars? It’s because that’s the nature of social media. I don’t live in a cutthroat competitive world. I think when I see something worthwhile I should celebrate and share it with my friends, students and colleagues. (BTW There’s an article in today’s Globe and Mail about a new business book coming out from – wait for – The Dalia Lama. He says much the same thing with increased happiness the goal and not just increased profits.)

So what’s up with Jason Odell’s webinars? Well Jason is “the guy” who literally wrote the book on NX2 and Silver Efex Pro. I bought both (actually all three as I bought the early NX Capture book as well) online books from Jason and I can highly recommend them. Jason writes in a clear, non-technical style that makes learning Capture NX2 or Silver Efex Pro easy for anybody.

So who should consider NX2? Easy answer is anyone who shoots RAW with a Nikon DSLR. NX2 was specially made to work with Nikon Raw files and many professional photographers use it exclusively to edit their NEF (Nikon’s proprietary RAW format) files. I use it all the time and even prefer it to my favourite Lightroom 2 or the standard “must-have” Photoshop CS4.

And who should consider Silver Efex Pro? Anyone using Lightroom 2 or Photoshop as Silver Efex Pro works an external editor in those two programs as well as Photoshop Elements and Aperture for Mac. Silver Efex Pro is just so much better in converting your colour images to black and white than other software programs. It’s insanely easy to use and produces stunning – and I mean stunning – results.

I’m going on a photo shoot soon where we’re heading up to Algonquin Park and trust me I’ll be shooting colour like crazy but I’ll also be shooting with an eye out for how the image will look in black and white. And when it comes to converting to black and white I don’t use anything other than Silver Efex Pro.

Leave a Reply

