Algonquin follow-up

One of my readers sent a comment asking for recommendations as far as tripods are concerned.

The short answer is “Gitzo” for the tripod and the guys at Luminance Landscape have a great review of the Gitzo 2227 paired with a  Gitzo Magnesium ballhead 1277M. This is a heavy-duty tripod and not one you’d likely want to pack in your suitcase for a vacation trip down south. I will last you a lifetime and will work for every camera from 35mm to 4X5.

Now do I own one? No. Do I wish I did? Yes.

So what do I have? I’ve got a small Gitzo G120 with a light Manfrotto head which my wife uses and I just bought a Manfrotto 055CXPRO3 with a standard Manfrotto head. This is a carbon-fibre tripod that worked well on my Algonquin trip. I bought the optional strap and it was easy to lug around all day long.

If I knew then what I know now I’d buy a Gitzo tripod at around $800 to $1000 and a head assembly from Really Right Stuff. If I didn’t need the weight reduction of carbon fibre I’d skip it and go with metal which might be more robust.

Here’s a review of best head assemblies.

Leave a Reply

