NIK Color Efex 3.0

I get a lot of questions about why I recommend NIK Software so often in my advanced workshops. Well, for one, it works really well. But what does it do? The answer is it does a lot. There are five main products that NIK sells that can help make your digital images just sing. But, like any tool, if you don’t know how to use it correctly it can make your images look really amateurish. So where do go to get help? Well we could do a custom workshop just on NIK Software someday here in Toronto but for now, here’s a great review with lots of examples and professional opinion by Keith Cooper who writes the Nightlight Images blog of Professional Photography.

His review is excellent and I agree with his conclusions about how to use NIK products like Color Efex 3.0.

BTW: Here’s a link to NIK Software’s Flickr sharing site. Check out the great photography.

And here’s a link to The NIK Summit in San Diego coming in May. Two-and-half days of shooting with pros who do workshops for $500. I’m very tempted to cancel another event I’m scheduled to attend in Dayton, Ohio and do the Summit. Last year I did David Tejada’s one-day Small Strobes – Big Results workshop in Buffalo and loved it. As well, I did a two-and-half day workshop with Ethan Meleg is Algonquin Provincial Park (Sponsored by Canadian Outdoor Photography magazine.) with my wife in the fall and love that one too. I brought home great images from both of those workshops. Like I say, I’m really tempted to do the NIK Summit as it looks like it would be both fun and educational at the same time. Cool.

One thought on “NIK Color Efex 3.0

  1. Hi Peter – I appreciate you sharing your thoughts about Nik and passing along Keith’s review. He does a really thorough job!

    Thanks also for the mention about the Nik Summit here in San Diego in May. We’ve got some great speakers lined up for folks to learn from – including Joe McNally, Tony Corbell, and Robert Beck. What I’m particularly proud of too are the workshops and the really great personal access to leading photographers – it should prove to be a valuable and hopefully very satisfying experience all around.

    Cheers, Kevin (from Nik Software)

Leave a Reply

