John Moore of Getty Images

I love news photography. I started my career in journalism working freelance for credits shooting images for weekly newspapers across southern Ontario. Most of this work was done on weekends and very soon I started to get paying assignments. I used those photos to create a portfolio which I showed every editor who would look at it. Eventually I got a job working as the second photographer and darkroom guy for a small daily newspaper in Brampton. It was the best time of my life (although I didn’t know that at the time).

I went onto shoot for an award-winning weekly and later was promote to be a two-way man (reporter and photographer) and after some years in public relations (making money) I went back to journalism as the editor of a national magazine and then group editor of a bunch of magazines. More fun and some stress but mostly fun.

Now I teach photography to new photographers (I focus a lot on keeping digital photography simple and understandable.) and still do some special-event photography for corporate clients and non-profit and social agencies.

To get to my point: When I see a particularly stunning photo in the morning newspapers (I still read two dailies everyday and the Sunday New York Times on the weekend.) I often Google the name and see if the photographer has a blog or online photo gallery.

This morning in the National Post there was an article  by John Duffy called Our global future, in microcosm that used the photo (above) by John Moore of Getty Images. Now this is a pretty simple image. Shot on the street with a fast lens open wide thus the blurred out background (which also can be done in Photoshop but such manipulation is still frowned upon in journalism circles) making the subject pop out of the image.

The photo is worth a thousand words, isn’t it? And John Moore is to be congratulated on shooting it.

But John Moore didn’t get to be a Getty photographer by accident. The photo of Mary McHug mourning her slain fiancee at Arlington National Cemetery who died in Iraq was both controversial (as should all great photos be) and an award-winner (Magazine News Picture, Editorial, Award of Excellence) is IMHO one of the most moving images I’ve seen.

Leave a Reply

