The Olympus OM-D-E-M5-II

Oh wow. The OM-D-E-M5-II by Olympus is an amazing camera 🙂

It’s a little tiny in my hands so I’ve ordered the accessory battery pac and grip but having said that it’s an amazingly accomplished camera especially with the equally amazing 12-40mm F/2.8 professional-level lens.E-M5MarkII_BLK_right_top_M1240_BLK

If you’re considering buying a the M5-Mark II you might not want to watch some of the online videos from new buyers.

As a long-time Olympus digital camera owner I’m pretty happy with the camera system including the menus. Some other shooters find the menu system a huge frustration. It’s not. It could be improved but once you get used to how Olympus does things this is a pretty nice camera and a pretty nice system.

Now having said that it took me half an hour to get the wireless transfer system working between the camera and my IPhone and I’m not sure yet that I’ve got it working perfectly.

The funny thing is I’ve always bought my cameras by how they felt in my hands. My SONY DSCoriginal first “real” camera was a Pentax Spotmatic with screw-in lenses and the old workhorse was used almost daily and didn’t owe me a dime by the time I sold it. It was a delight to use.

All the Nikons I’ve bought over the years have always felt right and I can’t recommend them enough and, like I said, if I was shooting professionally and needed a couple of robust full-frame cameras I’d buy Nikons in a heartbeat.

But the Nikon days are gone and there’s a new camera in town. I’ll be spending the next few days with the camera in one hand and the manual in the other.

Leave a Reply

