Best $85 Ever

That’s what it cost to attend STANDOUT! Photographic Forums yesterday in downtown Toronto.

Held at the HangLoose Media studio (cool place) on Logan, the all-day workshops were sponsored by a host of sponsors including PhaseOne and MamiyaLeaf and organized by B3K Digital.

201005we_phaseonedf_11-thumb-504x334-1078

There’s nothing like somebody handing you a $30,000 camera to make your hands shake 🙂

The pro-level workshops included American Photography Association president Tony Gale who talked about how to break into the US photo market followed by Douglas Sonders’s workshop on how to bullet-proof you location shooting, pre-production and digital tech-ing (his word). Both talks were excellent and filled with great info.

Next up was Walter Borchenko, founding partner at B3K Digital who did an overview of the Capture One photo editing software.

Now I’ve heard a lot about Capture One. If you Google Capture One you’ll see there’s a whole bunch of online tutorials and lots of very happy photographers raving about it.

Now as many of you know I used to teach for Henry’s Cameras here in Ontario and I teach (and use) Lightroom along with just about anything else to do with photography. (I’m working this week on a workshop about shooting street photography for a couple of camera clubs in the GTA.)

So let’s be clear here. I love Lightroom. Once I figured out how to setup my image files and bought a bunch of presets my ability to process thousands of images very, very quickly went way up. Everything in Lightroom works perfectly (okay I’m still struggling with some weirdness in printing to the Epson 3800 and usually use Photoshop to print.) and I’ve got the Adobe Lightroom/Photoshop subscription.

So while I was interested in Capture One, I wasn’t highly motivated to check it out.

Ah, well, ah…I hate to say it but after seeing Walter’s overview I’m sold on a couple of things. Capture One creates a better raw image to work on than Lightroom.

Okay! There I’ve said it.

When Walter projected two identical images on the screen we could clearly see the Capture One was sharper and clearer. And it was sharper and clearer by enough to make my jaw drop!

Second and really neat is Capture One works a little like my old favourite processor Nikon’s super and now unavailable NX Capture 2. I wonder if there’s not a hint here in the name? Doesn’t matter but what does matter is Capture One will allow you to change both global and local settings in really simple and elegant ways.

For example, Walter showed us a contact sheet of images with similar issues which could be fixed simultaneously in Capture One.

On one contact sheet he changed an over-exposure skin situation on all images at once. He did the same thing to a colour of a sweater changing all colours at the same time. But more importantly when one parameter in the images was changed, other parameters were left alone. Other software editors don’t do this.20121009032354-thumbnail-mark-seliger

I’m going to see if I can get my hands on a copy of Capture One and do an in-depth review at a future date.

The afternoon sessions at STANDOUT! where all equally useful and well presented but the highlight of the night was a 30-year retrospective of the work of Mark Seliger.

Mark is famous for his shooting for Rolling Stone magazine among others. A gracious and funny presenter, he’s a serious photographer who is at the top of his game right now. It was an honour and pleasure to be in the front row to hear the man and see his images.

All in all a great day of photography.

Leave a Reply

